top of page

The USC Thornton Opera Program
and the USC Thornton Symphony Present

Actéon and Glory Denied

A double bill of two one-act operas


Art Share L.A.

801 E. 4th Pl.

Los Angeles, CA 90013

(213) 687-4278


April 14, 2023 | 7:00 PM

April 16, 2023 | 2:00 PM


by Marc-Antoine Charpentier

based on a story in Ovid’s Metamorphoses

Glory Denied

by Tom Cipullo

based on the book by Tom Philpott

Synopses | Notes


Brent McMunn, Conductor

Martina Roos, Stage Director

Sam Lopez, Projections Designer

Christopher Hoffman, Technical Director

KerriAnne Savastano, Costume Designer Actéon

Edina Hiser, Costume Designer Glory Denied

English Super Titles by David Anglin


The show on April 16th will be livestreamed.

Find out more at the page.




Actéon Cast


Actéon       Krishna Raman

Diana         Haeun Baek     

Daphné     Chloe Millard        

Aréthuze   Joanna Kim        

Hyale         Xin Liang            

Junon         Katharine Bartosz        


Maria Campo, Julia Kempf, Mady Tozer, Estefani Lopez, Daniel Voigt, Ajani Harris, Kevin Allen, Adrian Melendrez, Matthew Weir

Glory Denied Cast

Younger Alyce             Haiming Wu   

Older Alyce                  Graycen Gardner      

Younger Thompson   Corey Estelle        

Older Thompson        John Watson    

Featuring the student musicians of the

USC Thornton Symphony

Actéon Orchestra

Violin               Diana Dawydchak

                          Evan Llafet

Cello                Kelcey Howell

Theorbo          Jason Yoshida

                         Robert Wang

Recorder        Adam Gilbert

                         Luis Lechuga-Espadas

Harpsichord  Brent McMunn


Glory Denied Orchestra

Violin             Owen Lin

Viola              Nicolas Valencia

Cello              Joseph Kim


Flute              Jeongwon Bae

Clarinet        Adam Floyd

Horn              Joe Oberholzert


Harp             Carter Williams


Percussion  Luciano Valdes

Piano            Mark Robson

Synopses | Notes

USC Vocal Arts & Opera Personnel



Lisa Sylvester, Chair

Ken Cazan

Jeremy Frank

Museop Kim

Lynn Helding

Elizabeth Hynes

Thomas Michael Allen

Karen Parks



Kyle Shafiee, Classical Division Manager

Damien Elwood, Opera Program Manager

Michael Leach, Teaching Assistant

Mark Robson, Opera Coach

Evangelya Delizonas-Khukhua, Rehearsal Pianist

Zineb Fikri, Opera Office Production Assistant
Jordan Jones, Opera Office Scheduling Asst. 
Ashley Pei, Opera Office Graphic Designer

Opera Production Personnel


Samuel Lopez, Projections Designer

Christopher Hoffman, Technical Director

KerriAnne Savastano, Costume Designer Actéon

Edina Hiser, Costume Designer Glory Denied

Cortney Heiser, Makeup and Hair Design

Kirk Graves, Props Master

Chloe Willey, Stage Manager

Noé Valenzuela, Projections and Lighting Programmer and Board Operator

Ben Altman, Assistant to Technical Director

Paul Carson, Master Electrician - Bigger Hammer

Georgina Garcia, Assistant to Costume Designers

This Production of
Actéon and Glory Denied
is presented in memory of
Jacqueline Edmée Roos

May 6, 1929 - April 1, 2023


The USC Thornton Opera Program
Expresses Gratitude for the
Support and Guidance of the Following
People and Organizations


Beth Stryker, Morgan Barajas and the staff of Art Share L.A., Mike Basak, Brent Anderson, Sharon Lavery and the USC Thornton Orchestra Program, Evan Calbi, Sean David Christensen, Jeff DeCaen, Michelle Simonsen, Heather Pio Roda, Tori Nagle and the staff of USC Thornton Production & Operations departments, Susan Lopez, Kimmie Lu, Adriana Gonzalez, Cindy Montes, Amber Taylor, Seatek Yachting, Mark Robson, Lisa Sylvester and the faculty and staff of the USC Thornton Vocal Arts Department.


And a special thanks to
Interim Dean Josh Kun

whose vision for the future of the

USC Thornton Opera Program

will be felt for many years to come. 

bottom of page